It’s not easy

Being a girl isn’t really easy. You have to deal with a monthly emotional crisis both brought by your own sensitivity and your effin’ menstrual cycle. 

It’s not easy being a girl because you are expected to be nice, to be kind, to be generous, to be loving, to be forgiving, to be faithful, and at the same time strong and tough. 

It’s not easy being a girl to grow up in a society which expects you to perform well, and also expects you to be at home, cooking, washing dishes, doing laundry, taking care of kids, buying groceries, and others.
It’s not easy being a girl because you have a lot of things going on in your mind. It’s not easy because people expect you to understand them and explain it to them very well. They expect a dissertation explaining why you’re not fine, why you’re mad, when you’re silent, why you’re having tantrums. What they don’t know is that most of what we’re thinking are like abstract paintings, with every situation that comes adds to its own complexity.

It’s not easy being a girl, yes, because they expect you to be unique and at the same time be like every other girl out there. To be the cheerleader and the valedictorian. To be you and the other.  
It’s not easy being a girl. Your soft heart can both be your charm and your downfall. Because people may see you as too irrational, too emotional, too sensitive, too drama, too… girly. 

It’s not easy being a girl because they expect you to be the flower among the sea of thorns. Even though I might be one of the thorns. 

I find it not easy to be a girl. Because no matter how I try to be tough, to be strong, to be nice, to be kind, to be generous, to be loving, to be forgiving, to be faithful, I sometimes slip. I most of the time slip. I had my own trials and battles that left me scars, not may be seen with the eye but felt from the words I have said and the tears I have shed, and from those unknown nights drowing from my own misery.

I know it’s not easy being a girl. Because I am a girl. But that doesn’t mean I stopped trying to become a better person, a better human. Sometimes, it’s just difficult to change the growth of what has always been. 

But, fear not, you girly person in front of the mirror, because no matter how painful the world can be, it’s the only place that I knew where love lives. So, hang in there. 

Leave a Reply

